Report of Committee A on Academic Freedom and Tenure, 2010–11

The 2010–11 report of Committee A includes an important mix of judicial and legislative business. In this introduction, I want to highlight two achievements, one judicial and the other legislative. Acting on the recommendations of Committee A with the concurrence of the Council, the 2011 annual meeting voted to remove the University of New Orleans and Loyola University New Orleans from the list of censured administrations. Following the removals of Southern University at New Orleans by the 2008 annual meeting and of Tulane University by the 2009 annual meeting, these two additional removals mean that all of the New Orleans universities censured in the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina have provided appropriate redress to affected faculty members and their regulations are now in compliance with standards supported by the AAUP. The AAUP’s prompt investigations and reports following Hurricane Katrina and the ultimate removals of censure completed this year constitute one of the most significant accomplishments in the history of the AAUP.

Read the full report here.